Go Mom, Go!


Today I have a PSA for moms. As caregivers, mom’s need to make sure we put on our oxygen masks first. For this reason, I ran a 5k last weekend. This might not seem like a big deal to some, but for me it was huge. It was my 3rd race and I didn’t start running until I reached my 50s. In the past few years, I struggled to maintain my weight and my sanity. I started to run because I needed to. Running might not appeal to you but I want to encourage you to figure out what you need to do to stay healthy. Believe me, I know it isn’t easy, but it is so necessary.

I couldn’t find a way to fit regular exercise into my schedule and stick with it. I never enjoyed running but after many conversations with people who run, I felt God was nudging me to try it. I heard myself giving Him all my excuses and I recognized them for what they were… lies! I know that it is possible to change and develop new godly habits.

Let the Spirit change your way of thinking.
Ephesians 4:23

Put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.
Ephesians 4:24

After many failed attempts to get to the gym regularly and one more conversation with a runner, one of my friends posted something about C25K (couch to 5K). It sounded easy enough so I gave it a try and it worked! That was 2 years ago in May. I ran my first 5k race that August. I became a regular runner and I actually loved it! And then winter came.

Last winter I grew a muffin top. It was probably the most difficult winter I’ve been through. MJ was still struggling through college classes and it was a constant battle to get her to stay focused and on top of all the assignments. And then my other kid was diagnosed with mononucleosis. It was also an unusually cold winter for running and I barely made it out. I was not exercising and was eating emotionally so I packed on the pounds.

God, in all his wisdom, gave me a neighbor who also has a kid with Asperger’s Syndrome and this spring we started running together. She also goes to my church and we share a lot of the same friends. Aha! Now I have an accountability partner and a trusted and understanding friend. We ran last week’s 5k together and we did great. What a blessing!

We are still waiting for Service Source to share their profiles with us. And MJ is still working on electronics and has another graphic design project she’s working on. But, she is also still sleeping a lot during the day and that really frustrates me. In the days to come we will try to clean up and get her things organized so they are not all over the place. Lord, help me replace my anger with compassion.

I’m still learning how to set healthy boundaries and how to help both of my kids to become more independent. Last week I celebrated another birthday so I admit I thought a lot more about my wants and needs. I think that’s healthy. We have to take care of ourselves, mind, body, and spirit in order to take care of others and serve God well. For me, right now it means running, making time to study His word and to pray, time to be creative, taking time to be with friends, and spending quality time with my husband. But circumstances always change and what’s working for me now or working for others, might not always be the case. I pray that all of us mom’s will have the wisdom to know what we need and trust that God will provide. Keep going and stay focused. Go Mom, go!

One thought on “Go Mom, Go!

  1. This is so true. I made the decision to finally take care of ME and then another bomb dropped but I didn’t let it disrupt my plan. Amid all the other craziness, I still have committed to at least 30 minutes of exercise for me. It clears my mind, lowers my stress AND does a body good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

