Snowzilla: God Makes Us Wait


I haven’t posted in a while, mostly because I’ve been very busy at work, but also because there wasn’t much to report. We weren’t making much progress toward the new year’s goals. MJ still hadn’t gotten back to that great sleep/wake schedule she had going before the holidays. And then “snowzilla” happened. I won’t kid you, I had a hard time staying focused on the positive and finding encouragement. But I know that God sent the snow, reminding us that He is in charge. He ordered us to be still for a bit and take a break. (Yeah, that’s my car under that pile of snow.) I recognized that I was deep in waiting mode… waiting for Pathways to find an internship opportunity, waiting for the weather to give us a break and for the roads to be cleared, waiting for God to work things out.

Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!
–Psalm 27:13-14

During the past few weeks we undertook the renovation of our powder room. We are not very good DIYers. But we try, mostly to save money. So it was a messy job that took a long time. The collection of tools and supplies extended all the way from the powder room, through the hallway, into the kitchen and impeded easy access to our garage. It took a lot of patience and energy to press on, to manage the rest of my life in the midst of the mayhem. But I pressed on knowing that there is beauty in the mess; beauty in knowing that one day this will be behind me and something fresh, new and much better will be on the other side. Everything has been cleared away and we are just putting the finishing touches in now. I can breathe again and I see the powder room will definitely be worth the wait and the work.

In our last appointment with her psychologist, MJ brought up the subject of hormone replacement therapy again. We ran through the steps she would need to take but she still hasn’t done anything about it. I told her she could come to me to help script a phone call to to an endocrinologist, but she hasn’t done that either. This is all fine with me. I am still waiting on God to work this one out. In the meantime, I’m reading another paper on GID and ASD. I link to it here in case you are interested in reading about this complex issue yourself. It’s from the Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine.

As a reward for reading this far, I have a fantastic bit of news to share with you. The internship that Pathways has been working on looks like it might work out soon! It sounds like a great opportunity for MJ to show her talents and develop her resume. We are waiting for the appointment to be scheduled for MJ to go over to the company with two representatives from the Pathways Program and meet them in their offices. Hopefully that will happen in the next 2 weeks and MJ can start sometime this month! I praise the Lord for making this happen and covet your prayers over the whole situation.

These things I plan won’t happen right away. Slowly, steadily, surely, the time approaches when the vision will be fulfilled.
– Habakkuk 2:3

I wait expectantly, trusting God to help, for he has promised.
– Psalm 105:5

For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven
and do not return there but water the earth,
making it bring forth and sprout,
giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater,
so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;
it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.
– Isaiah 55: 10-11

Leave a Reply

