She’s Driving!


MJ drove the half hour to and from her internship by herself for the first time this week! Woo-hoo! I’m doing the happy dance! I am so proud of her.

In the last 4 weeks since the present internship began, I had been riding with her, sometimes driving her there and letting her drive home. A few times she drove both ways but still wanted me in the car. She’s had her license for a long time but until now wasn’t comfortable driving anywhere alone.

Most of the time I was a terrible passenger. Admittedly, I was more scared than I ought to be. I wanted her to start braking long before she really had to. And I worried that she’d get distracted and forget where she needs to exit. I think she just had to get over the hump and find the confidence to rely on her own instincts and experiences. So, the other day she did it! This is such a huge milestone and a giant step toward her independence.

I’m also relieved to get the time back into my work day. I had a hard time getting my work done. Traffic can get pretty heavy on the way home and it often took 2 1/2 hours to go there and back two times in one day.

Of course I still worry about her and I need her to let me know when she’s arrived safely. I’m sure most moms feel that way with their new drivers. The stress of driving is probably taking years off our lives. It’s difficult to remember to pray instead of worrying.

What kind of car would Jesus drive? A Christler.
Uh, no, you’re so wrong. Everybody knows that Jesus drove a Honda, but he didn’t like to talk about it.
From John 12:49 ‘For I do not speak of my own Accord…’

MJ read a string of these bad jokes to me while we were visiting with my Dad. He’s in a rehab facility recovering from a stroke. Can you believe my Dad is now 95 years old and he’s recovering!? Dad has a wonderful sense of humor, displays true love for people, and his faith in God is deep. And, through 55 years of marriage, my dear Mom took great care of him and has always fed him a healthy diet. These are just some of the things I attribute to his longevity. AND, he doesn’t drive and never has. But honestly, rehab has been rough and Dad is very tired. I’m praying that he feels the Lord with him everyday, just as I pray the Lord is with MJ in the car.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.
– Joshua 1:9

MJ’s present internship is going well. She said she likes it more than she thought she would. They give her projects, she gets them done on time, and it sounds like she does a great job. The reports I hear are that everyone is happy with her performance. Will they offer her a more permanent position when the 10 weeks are over? And if they do, will MJ accept the offer? I have no idea. Jesus, take the wheel.

One thought on “She’s Driving!

  1. Oh Dorothy… I’m so happy for both of you. Such a great milestone and step for everyone. Praying the internship goes well. Love to all, Shelly

    Like

Leave a Reply

